Our Trustees

The Cox Foundation Trustees

Overall direction of the Foundation rests with its four Trustees, including one Trustee who knew Mrs. Cox, and a Trustee who is a recently retired and distinguished senior Foreign Service Officer.

Shannon M. Wilde


2008 - Present

Shannon M. Wilde is a practicing attorney and shareholder of Branscomb | PC. He holds Bachelor of Arts degrees in Government and Spanish, with high honors, from The University of Texas. He received his MBA and Juris Doctor degrees from Baylor University. While at Baylor, Mr. Wilde was a Baylor Law Alumni Academic Merit Scholar.

Larry Wood


2016 - Present

Larry J. Wood retired in April 2013 as Senior Vice President and Senior Regional Fiduciary Manager for Greater Texas and Hill County, Southwest Region, Wells Fargo Wealth Management. Mr. Wood has a 39-year career in financial services. During his career he attained the designation of Certified Financial Planner and Certified Trust and Financial Advisor, plus numerous brokerage licenses. For the past 38 years, he has volunteered with numerous civic and charitable organizations in South Texas. He is a graduate of Texas A&I University and the Southwest Graduate School of Banking at Southern Methodist University. He is a native of Corpus Christi, Texas.

Dian Owen VanDeMark


1997 - Present

Ms. VanDeMark is a partner in a business venture with principal operations at Chapman Ranch, Texas. She received a Bachelor of Arts in Journalism with high honors from the University of Texas at Austin, and a Master of Arts from St. John’s College in Annapolis, Maryland. A Chapman family member and cousin of Una Chapman Cox, she has been involved in the work of the Foundation since 1996.

Glyn Davies


2022 - Present

Ambassador Glyn T. Davies was a Foreign Service Officer with the Department of State for 38 years, serving in Australia, Africa, Europe and Asia. He retired in November 2018 after three years as Ambassador to the Kingdom of Thailand. His other assignments included Permanent Representative to United Nations Agencies in Vienna (2009-2011), Deputy Chief of Mission at the U.S. Embassy in London (1999-03), Executive Secretary of the National Security Council Staff at the White House (1997-1999), and Deputy Spokesman of the Department of State (1995-1997). Amb. Davies has a Bachelor of Science degree in International Politics from Georgetown University as well as a Master of Science degree in National Security Strategy from the National Defense University in Washington D.C.

Grey VanDeMark

Trustee Member

2023 - Present

Grey VanDeMark is a commercial film editor based in Austin, Texas. He holds a Bachelor of Science in political communications from Emerson College. New to the board in 2024, Grey is a Chapman family member and looks forward to continuing the legacy of Una Chapman Cox.

Past Trustees & Directors

Board of Trustees

  • Alfred L. Atherton, Jr.
    1985 - 1988
  • Stephen W. Bosworth
    1990 - 1991
  • Harvie Branscomb, Jr.
    1980 - 2018
  • Charles W. Bray
    1992 - 1995
  • Kate Canavan
    2017 - 2021
  • Una Chapman Cox
    1980 - 1982
  • Charles A. Gillespie, Jr.
    2004 - 2006
  • Arthur A. Hartman
    1997 - 1999
  • L. Craig Johnstone
    2000 - 2003
  • A. Elizabeth Jones
    2010 - 2011
  • Kenton E. McDonald
    2000 - 2003
  • Jane Chapman Owen
    1985 - 1999
  • Anne Patterson
    2021 - 2022
  • W. Robert Pearson
    2011 - 2017
  • George S. Vest
    1989 - 1992
  • Alexander F. Watson
    2007 - 2009

Executive Directors

  • Diego Asencio
    1985 - 1987
  • Alfred (Roy) Atherton
    1989 - 1997
  • Peter Bridges
    1987 - 1988
  • Lino Gutiérrez
    2010 - 2022
  • Anthony (Tony) C.E. Quainton
    1997 - 1998
  • Clyde Taylor
    1999 - 2010