Overall direction of the Foundation rests with its five Trustees, including one Trustee who knew Mrs. Cox, and a Trustee who is a recently retired Foreign Service Officer.

Shannon M. Wilde, President

Shannon M. Wilde is a practicing attorney and shareholder of Branscomb | PC. He holds Bachelor of Arts degrees in Government and Spanish, with high honors, from The University of Texas. He received his MBA and Juris Doctor degrees from Baylor University. While at Baylor, Mr. Wilde was a Baylor Law Alumni Academic Merit Scholar.

Larry Wood, Secretary/Treasurer

Larry J. Wood retired in April 2013 as Senior Vice President and Senior Regional Fiduciary Manager for Greater Texas and Hill County, Southwest Region, Wells Fargo Wealth Management. Mr. Wood has a 39-year career in financial services. During his career he attained the designation of Certified Financial Planner and Certified Trust and Financial Advisor, plus numerous brokerage licenses. For the past 38 years, he has volunteered with numerous civic and charitable organizations in South Texas. He is a graduate of Texas A&I University and the Southwest Graduate School of Banking at Southern Methodist University. He is a native of Corpus Christi, Texas.



Dian Owen VanDeMark

Ms. VanDeMark is a partner in a business venture with principal operations at Chapman Ranch, Texas. She received a Bachelor of Arts in Journalism with high honors from the University of Texas at Austin, and a Master of Arts from St. John’s College in Annapolis, Maryland. A Chapman family member and cousin of Una Chapman Cox, she has been involved in the work of the Foundation since 1996.

Anne Patterson

Ambassador Patterson was the Assistant Secretary for Near Eastern and North African Affairs at the Department of State (2013-2017). She served as Ambassador to Egypt (2011-2013), to Pakistan (2007-2010), to Colombia (2000-2003) and to El Salvador (1997-2000). She recently retired with the rank of Career Ambassador after more than four decades in the Foreign Service. Ambassador Patterson also served as Assistant Secretary of State for International Narcotics and Law Enforcement Affairs and Deputy Permanent Representative to the United Nations, among other assignments. She is currently a senior fellow at the Jackson Institute for Global Affairs at Yale and a member of the Commission on National Defense Strategy.


Alfred L. Atherton, Jr. 1985-1988
Stephen W. Bosworth 1992-1993
Harvie Branscomb, Jr. 1980 – 2015
Charles W. Bray 1994 – 1996
Una Chapman Cox 1980 – 1982
Charles A. Gillespie, Jr. 2004 – 2006
Arthur A. Hartman 1997 – 1999
L. Craig Johnstone 2000 – 2003
A. Elizabeth Jones 2010 – 2011
Kenton E. McDonald 2000 – 2006
Jane Chapman Owen 1985 – 1999
W. Robert Pearson 2011 – 2016
George S. Vest 1989 – 1991
Alexander F. Watson 2007 – 2009
Kate Cananvan 2017 – 2021

Past Executive Directors

Diego Asencio 1985 – 1987
Peter Bridges 1987 – 1988
Alfred (Roy) Atherton 1989 – 1997
Anthony (Tony) C.E. Quainton 1997 – 1998
Clyde Taylor 1999 – 2010
Lino Gutiérrez 2010-2022